USATF National Masters 5k Championships

award

Our New Balance Tampa Master Racing Team deserves bragging rights. Susan Lynn Cooke, Shelly Gornick Allen and Trish Butler raced as a team and not only placed 2nd out 6 good teams but they only had 3 runners compared to the others who had up to 5. The New Balance Tampa Masters are sweeping top prizes everywhere they go, they definitely left their mark on this event that brings in the best masters teams in the country!

Congratulations Team New Balance Tampa!

1.jpg

Some words from our Team Captain:

“We had a strong debut of the New Balance Tampa Masters Racing team at the USATF National Masters 5k Championships. We placed 2nd out of 6 teams in the 50-59 year old division with two of our newest team members; Shelly Gornick Allen & Trish Butler along with myself. This is a prestigious and wonderfully organized race up in Syracuse, NY that is part of the USATF Masters Grand Prix Series.  Thank you, Lynn”

Race ready at the USATF National Masters 5k Championships:

1-5

Now a little bit about our two new members of the New Balance Tampa Master Racing Team.

Welcome Trish Butler and Shelly Allen!

shelly-2                

Shelly Allen  (I race in USATF as “Michelle Allen”)

Date of Birth:  10/25/63 (current age 52)

I met my husband, Dave, on the cross country team in high school, and we have 2 grown children, Nicole and Ryan, who are both Florida State University graduates, and are both now married and starting their families and careers.  So, we are new grandparents!   Dave coaches me in my running, and while I focus on middle distance running, he is a marathoner.  We enjoy traveling, training, and racing around the country together!

I started running at age 12 in PAL (Police Athletic League) in St. Petersburg, FL, and continued running in high school and college, in both cross country and track.

Highlights from high school and college:

Orange Park High School graduate of 1982, Team Captain of the Girls Cross Country Team State Champions.

School record in the 2 mile – 11:08

3rd Place individual finisher in the State High School Track Championship in both the mile and 2 mile.

High School mile PR – 5:05

National High School Athletic Coaches Association Cross Country All-American.

Two years at Florida International University on full athletic scholarship.

NCAA Div.II track finalist in both the 3000m and 5000m

Transferred to Jacksonville University to pursue a nursing degree at this university, on full athletic scholarship

Individual winner of the Sunbelt Conference Cross Country Championship

College PR’s:

1500m – 4:41

3000m – 10:02

5000m – 17:17

10,000m – 36:36

After college, I started my family and worked as a Labor and Delivery RN for 12 years.  Dave and I later became franchise owners of Pinch-A-Penny Pool, Patio, and Spa in the Jacksonville area.   I took 25 years off from training and racing, although I did occasionally sneak in a run here and there!

I began my Masters running career in 2013 at age 49, and was the “USATF Florida Masters Track and Field Athlete of the Year”, running the 800m and 1500m.  I have competed at various state, regional, and national track meets in the past 4 years, earning All-American awards.

I have also competed in road racing over the past 4 years, and was the 4th Place Overall Winner (and 1st place female) in the Jacksonville Grand Prix in the 2015-2016 season.  I was also awarded the “Outstanding Women’s Senior Division Runner” by the Jacksonville Track Club for the 2015-2016 season.

Masters PR’s:  (at ages 49-52)

800m – 2:40

1500m – 5:32

5000m – 20:06

8K – 34:07

10K – 43:45

Currently ranked 8th in the USA in both the 800m and 1500m in 50-54 age group for Outdoor Track and Field.

I also serve on the Board of Directors for the Florida Striders Track Club, where I am the Team Coordinator for the Running Team, which consists of 18 members ages 8 – 65.  I am also a volunteer coach in the 5k and Half-Marathon Training Classes that the club offers to adults in the community.

I love swimming for cross training, and have competed winning awards in sprint and olympic distance triathlons and aquathlons!  I also enjoy golf and hiking!

 

trish.jpg

New Balance Tampa Masters Racing Team

Trish Butler

Date of Birth:  10/13/1962

I am married with three children; Christopher, Jess, Matthew and one grandchild.  We are a family of runners.

I have over a decade of coaching background with numerous college coaching achievements and high school coaching awards including FHSAA Boys State Champions five times and FHSAA Girls State Champions six times. Currently I am the head cross country coach at St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Ft Lauderdale.

 

Some of my athletic achievements are;

USATF Phidippides Gold Award (two times), USATF Florida Master Athlete of the Year, AIAW Cross Country National Champions (NCSU), Harrier All American (4 times), AAU National Age group Cross Country Champion, AAU National Age group record 1500m, TAC National Championship 1500m Bronze, Olympic Trial Qualifier 1500m

 

My Athletic PRs:

800m:  2:09

1500m:  4:21

5k:  16.44

Master’s PR’s (over 40)

1500: 4:50

5k: 17:20

10k:  36:53

½ Marathon:  1:23

Grand Master’s PR’s (over 50)

5k:  18:39

Favorite Quote:  “The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather in a lack of WILL.”

 

 

