A group of accomplished women have become New Balance Tampa Masters Team.

masters.jpg

We will be following their successes, training stories, tips and tricks.

masters team 3

New Balance Tampa Master Racing Team

Overview

This team of elite Tampa Bay female masters runners (age 40 or greater) supported by New Balance Tampa is possibly the first of its kind.  New Balance Tampa Masters Racing consists of 5 local accomplished female runners age 40 to 57.  Each member of the team, despite their age, is consistently “breaking the tape” and winning “overall” awards including gold and silver medals in local and national  U S A Track and Field (USATF) competitions.  Each team member is capable of elite performances ranging from the marathon distance down to track sprint events, all the while competing against younger women.

masters team

The New Balance Tampa Masters Racing Team was conceived to bring awareness to 40+ year old women that while managing a profession, family and aging, it is still possible to remain fit and even compete against younger women…and win.

masters team 4

As a team we will support all women athletes but intend to focus ourselves to become role models for the 40+ woman who wants to exercise and stay physically fit.

New Balance Tampa believes 40+ female athletes can achieve great things. By promoting health and fitness to this demographic, our team members intend to open the door to an older generation of women athletes by encouraging them to participate in athletics, stay healthy and have fun.

Contact info;

Ken Keenan – New Balance Tampa – Manager, cell # 727-481-2664

Susan Lynn Cooke – New Balance Tampa Master Racing Team Manager and team member, cell # 727-255-9911

masters team 2

__________________________________________________________________

New Balance Tampa Masters Racing Team

lynn.jpg

Susan Lynn Cooke (I go by “Lynn” but race under Susan)

AGE:  57 years young (January 1959)

In a relationship with my perfect life partner who supports my passion of running and racing.  We enjoy healthy eating, travel and living each day to the fullest together.  I am owned by 3 wonderful Whippet boys (4-legged kids) that I run with in the mornings.

I am a Medical Diagnostic Imaging Representative specializing in the sale of pharmaceuticals, equipment and informatics systems to hospitals and outpatient centers for a large Italian company. Previous professional achievements in other areas include working as a registered nurse in a busy emergency room for 11 years and working as a financial consultant.

Motto: AGE IS NOT A FACTOR

My running/racing career is different in that I didn’t start running until I was 50 when I ran the Miami ING half-marathon.  This event seemed like an appropriate way to celebrate turning 50 and doing something out of my element.  I dabbled in 5ks and even half-marathons thereafter but did not train seriously, just ran lots of races.

While in junior high, I had tried out for track but was told I was not fast enough.  So, I turned to gymnastics, skiing, biking and riding Dressage.  It wasn’t until Spring, 2015 that I was urged to train on a track to improve my running form and speed.  I entered more road races since that first half-marathon and found I was placing top three in my age group without a coach or doing serious training.

Once I started a formal track training program, I was urged by my coaches to enter the 2015 U. S. National Masters Championship competition where I raced on a track and wore spikes for the first time!  I took Silver (second place) in my age group in both the 800meter and 1500meter races.  I also achieved “All American” designation based on my times.  I was hooked.

Currently, I train 6 days per week and work with one of the best coaches in Florida, Dror Vaknin. My short term goals are to break the American record for women 55-59 in both the 800m and 1500m and then go after the world records.

2015  Women 55-59

800 meter:  Ranked 2nd in US and 4th in the World.

1500 meter: Ranked 4th in the US and 18th in the World

2016

Gasparilla 5K- 1st Masters, 10th overall female, 19:50,  Age grading = 92.53%

Iron Girl Clearwater 5K- 1st overall female , 20:01, age grading = 91.68%

Best Damn Race Orlando 5K- 2ed overall female, 20:07, Age grading = 91.22%

Best Dam Race Safety Harbor 5K-2ed overall female 19:41, age grading = 93.22%

Tampa International Airport Run 5K- 3rd overall female, 19:20, age grading = 94.92%

17th Annual Clearwater Halfathon: 5 Mile-2ed overall female, 35:18

USATF 1500meter (Emory University, Atlanta) 5:19.98 (personal record) currently fastest recorded 2016 time in the world for women 55-59.


christina

Christina Noordstar

Name:  Christina Noordstar

Date of Birth:   May 14, 1976 (Age 40)

Phone/E-Mail:  (813) 817-6019; CNoordstar@msn.com

Family Status:   Married 15 years to Quint her college sweet heart, marathon training buddy and business partner; Quint is from Curacao, N.A.; Two Children – Ages 3 Alessandra and Age 5 Andreas. They are all three the love of my life along with running, friends and travel.

Occupation:

  • Multi-Unit Owner of Tropical Smoothie Café – 7 Locations; First location opened 12 years ago.
  • Tampa Bay Tropical Smoothie Café Area Developer – 17 Locations; 6 new locations under development.
  • Real Estate Development
  • Serves as a Guest Speaker at Engagements with Universities, various schools, athletic groups and teams.Creating Success with Vision and Hard Work – Find your Passion, Make it Happen and Keep Inspired”.

Professional Awards:

  • Tropical Smoothie National Top Store Sales Location Owner 13 years Tropical Smoothie Top Area Brand Development Builder
  • Nominee St Petersburg’s Woman of Distinction

Athletic Achievements:

  • Currently competing as a sub-Elite Marathoner qualifying for World Major Marathons with the American Development Team.
  • Ranked as a Top Florida Female Runner and professionally coached.
  • 2013-2016 Completed 6 Sub 3-hour Marathons: Marine Corp Marathon, Jacksonville Marathon, LA Marathon, Chicago Marathon, Boston Marathon. Ran 3 additional marathons in Disney, Amsterdam & Paris 3:00 3:02, 3:03.
  • 2014-2015 Selected for Florida’s Finest Team as a top Florida runner to compete at the Disney Marathon.
  • Prior to competitive marathons – competed as an elite triathlete and ranked as All-American for 5 years consecutively. Overall achievements include Top Finisher Places in:
  • 2 Long Course National Championships, Long Course World Championships, 4 Half Ironman World Championships, 2 Ironmans

Athletic PR’s:

  • Marathon: 2:54 Chicago Marathon 2014
  • ½ Marathon: 1:20 Holiday Halfathon 2013
  • 10k: 37:36 Best Damn Race 2014
  • 5k: 17:46 Harveys 5k 2014
  • 1 Mile 5:30 University of Tampa 1 Mile Meet 2014

 

Laurie

Laurie Wisotsky, 45 

I’m a wife, dance-mom, soccer-mom, and a competitive short distance Master’s runner. I am also a surgical Physicians Assistant. I practiced medicine for 13 years before taking a sabbatical to pursue one of my passions, running.  Even though I’m not currently practicing, I still maintain my medical license with the plan to return to helping people. 

 My love for running started 8 short years ago, after watching the NYC marathon.  I had never been a runner before, but after watching that race I said to myself, “I want to do that.  I want that challenge.”

 I love the marathon and everything about it. The training, the feeling of accomplishment after running 23 miles on a Saturday morning, the preparation for the race, and of course, the race itself. But after years of ongoing injures because of back issues, I had to make a change. So in 2014, I decided to start competing in shorter distances, i.e. the track, 5k, and 10k’s.  The decision did not come easy but I have come to realize it’s the best decision I made, not just athletically, but personally.

In a short period of time on the track, I have been quite successful.  In 2014, I was recognized by USTAF Florida as the Masters Athlete of the Year in Track.  At the 2014 Master’s Indoor Track National Championships, I won the Bronze medal in the 800m, and ran an All American time in the 1 mile.  At the 2014 Master’s Outdoor Track National Championships, I won the Bronze medal in the 800m, and ran an All-American time in both the 800m and 1500m race.

 In 2015, I won gold and ran an All-American time in the 800m at the Jimmy Carnes College Invitational. At the 2015 Master’s Indoor Track National Championships I ran an All-American time in the 1 mile. In that same year I won a gold medal at the Sunshine State Games in the 800m and at the Master’s Outdoor Track National Championships I took home the Bronze medal and ran an All American time in the 800m.

 Aside from running, I am very passionate about medical missions. When I was a practicing PA-C, I spent some time in Guatemala providing health care to the indigent. It was the most rewarding experience of my life.  My hope is to go back in the future.

 I am also a wine enthusiast, and I love to travel with my husband and two kids, Emily and Alexander, now 11 and 12 years old.

My life’s motto: I don’t want to look back on my life and have any regrets. You only live once. So pursue your passions no matter how crazy. No dream is too big!

You can learn more about me on my website at lauriewisotsky.com

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram


 

Terri

Terri Rejimbal             Master Age: 47           Hometown: Tampa, FL

 Proud Pet-mommy/rescuer to Ursa, a lab-chow mix, now 5, rescued at 8wks, used my prize money from Masters Half marathon to adopt her – Best Prize Ever!! Next to my husband, who I rescued on a flight back from Costa Rica.

Masters Runner, Animal-lover, Dog-rescuer, Solar Eclipse Chaser, World Traveler, Wine Enthusiast, Wine Bottle Crafter, & can tame a tiger, wire an A/C unit, office manager of interrogation soft/hardware company & still be a Genie

Motto: It’s not over yet, just getting smarter, faster, & wiser. Never settle that it’s over at 40.

Career Highs: oops Highlights

Breaking my PR’s in 1-Mile, 4-Mile, 15K, 13.1Mile, 26.2Mile & 50K

7X Florida’s Finest Team Walt Disney Marathon, Master Female (2009-2015)

5X Disney Marathon Female Master Champion

3X Gasparilla Half Marathon Female Champion (oldest person to ever to win)

7X USATF Master Half Marathon Championship Competitor, place in Top 5

2014 USATF LDR Master Grand Prix Series Champion Womens AG 45-49

4X Bob Potts Marathon Champion & Course Record Holder (as a Master)

5X FL USTAF LDR Athlete of the Year-Master & Open

2015 Paul Mitchell XTERRA FL Trail Run Series Champion Womens AG 45-49

2010 USATF Master of the Year Honorable Mention Women AG40-44

Boston Marathon: 2010 (3:05:15), 17th Master, 4th FL FOA; 2009 (3:05:28) 12th Master, 3rd FL FOA

2008 NCACWMA Half Marathon Champion

Opportunity to train with Kenyans, Ethiopians & Polish runners during my career

Compete internationally – Germany DLV circuit, Jamaica Half marathon & marathon Champion

2002-2003 Running Journal XXV Series 2nd Female Overall Champion

 Master Career Accolades:      

1-Mile             5:41

5K                    17:45

4-Mile             23:21

10K                  36:53

15K                  58:03

13.1Mile          1:21:50

20K                  1:19:23

25K                  1:40:12

26.2Mile          3:00:27

50K (Trail)       4:29:17

Enjoy most from running: Freedom, being outdoors/not confined, seeing the world, & meeting interesting people

Best Advice: Take care of your feet & they will take care of you.


 

Laura

Laura Drake Cole        47 years old

Occupation: Public Defender/Criminal Defense Attorney

I’m a mom to a rescue “cat” who thinks he is a dog – he comes when I call, follows me on recovery walks (even jumping streams!) and seems to really appreciate his life at home vs. the pound! I love to read non-fiction, with a focus on World War II. I love the stories of courage and perseverance that generation produced. Some of my favorite books include “Prisoners of the Japanese” (Dawes) and, a fun book, the original “Cheaper By The Dozen” (Gilbreth). I love to   do minor home improvements including paint, tile work, and floor installation. I’m married to a great guy in the Air Force…His love of aviation is second to mine. I’m working on my private pilot license!

I began my athletic career riding Hunter/Jumpers – and no, the horses don’t do ALL the work! It gave me a great sense of teamwork, as you and the horse work together. I cycled on a National Level in college (University of South Florida). I then transitioned to triathlons/running in 1989. I never did any high school sports! I had (have) no hand-eye coordination and was too slow for Track/Cross Country!

Favorite Saying: “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t, you are right” Triathlon Highlights include: (note: IM =  Ironman)

2nd IM Canada

3rd IM Lake Placid

3rd IM Brazil

5th IM Japan

5th IM Germany

6th IM Austira (PR 9:38:41)

9 Kona Ironman World Championship Qualifications including 1st Age Group (1999) & 5th AG (1996)

1st American/ 9th Female World Long Course Duathlon (flew back on 9/11 & were diverted to Halifax)

5th Santa Rosa Sprint

4th St. Croix Half-IM

4 USA Long Course National Champion (overall female)

USAT Long Course Duathlon Regional Champin (overall female)

USAT Olympic Distance National Champion (overall female)

Overall Female St. Anthony’s Olympic Distance (PR 2:08:00)

Gatorman Triathlon Series Winner (Sweep of 3 overall wins in 3 races)

Overall Amateur Female IM New Zealand

Overall Female Madeira Beach Triathlon

Overall Female FL Challenge Half-IM

Running specific highlights include:

1st Gasparilla 15K (1999; 2000-PR 52:58; 2001)

1st Gasparilla 5k (2001 17:24)

Won 15k & 5K same day

1st Gasparilla Challenge 2006 (15k + 5k + 13.1M); 2nd Top Master Gasparilla Challenge 2013

13th Female/ 3rd American/ 1st Georgian Peachtree 10K (35:51)

3rd AG USAF Marathon 2015

2nd OAF Green River, WY Marathon (Held at 6000’+ elevation)

2nd AG/6th OAF Disney Marathon 2006 (3:07) (Team Florida’s Finest)

15 Picnic Island Adventure Run Wins (Tampa, FL)
1st OAF ATC ATL Marathon & CR (2:54:13) 2001; 1st OAF in 2000 & 2nd OAF in 1999


We are honored at New Balance Tampa to have this group of women represent New Balance Tampa Masters Racing Team. Wishing you all health and winnings! -New Balance Tampa

nb card

nb phone and social media

